DUIL

DUIL AND DWLS

DUIL/OWI (Operating While Intoxicated)

Under Michigan law, the terms DUI and OWI generally refer to the same thing, a criminal drunk driving charge. Michigan DUI law separates impaired driving charges into several categories with varying degrees of seriousness and penalties. The right attorney can make the difference between jail and no jail, or between a short and a long sentence.

After a Michigan DUI arrest, you are probably scared about going to jail and having a criminal record. You are concerned about losing your driver's license, about having to have an ignition interlock device, and about the employment, insurance and financial implications your arrest may have. If you are like most people who have faced this situation, you may be a little overwhelmed by the complexity of Michigan DUI Law. You have every right to be concerned and afraid because you are facing an allegation that could cause you discomfort and hardship now, and affect the rest of your life.

*OWI Charges

$500 to $5,000 fine and either:
One to five years imprisonment.
Probation with 30 days to one year in jail.
60 to 180 days community service.
Driver license denial/revocation for a minimum five years.
License plate confiscation.
Vehicle immobilization one to three years unless vehicle is forfeited.
Possible vehicle forfeiture.
Registration denial.
Six points on driver record.
$1000 Driver Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years.

 

DWLS (Driving While License Suspended)

Though driving with a suspended license (DWLS) is usually a misdemeanor, it is still important to stand up for your rights. Being cited or arrested for DWLS is a serious offense that requires the attention of an experienced lawyer who understands the criminal laws in Michigan.

If you have been convicted of a crime for which your license was suspended, we can take steps to appeal the suspension. Driver's license appeals are complicated and must be done in a timely manner to ensure the best possible result.

*DWLS Charges

Up to $500 fine, up to 93 days in jail, or both.
Mandatory additional suspension.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years.

DWLS (second offense)
Up to $1,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or both.
Mandatory additional suspension.
Vehicle may be immobilized for up to 180 days.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee

DWLS (third offense-must have two priors within seven years-misdemeanor)
Mandatory additional suspension.
License plate confiscated.
Vehicle immobilized 90 to 180 days.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years.

DWLS (fourth offense-must have three priors within seven years-misdemeanor)
Same as for third offense.

DWLS (fifth offense-must have four priors within seven years-misdemeanor)
Mandatory additional suspension.
License plate confiscated.
Vehicle immobilized one to three years.
$500 Driver Responsibility Fee for two consecutive years.

*Information from the Michigan Secretary of State.

 

Call now for a FREE Initial Consultation.

117 South Main Street, Almont, MI 48003
© Copyright 2010 Great Lakes Legal Team, P.L.C. All Rights Reserved | SITE MAP